A Friday thought – other people

One of my favourite quotes is, sadly, from Star Trek. In the film, Generations, Malcolm McDowell’s character utters the line:

“Normal is what everyone else is and you are not.”

So what is normal? Well, other people:

  • Know how to put up tents
  • Learn to drive
  • Went to scouts/brownies
  • Go on holiday every year
  • Leave work on time more often than not
  • Get married
  • Go to restaurants & pubs
  • Speak to their friends daily
  • Drink tea & beer
  • Like sandy beaches
  • Exercise regularly
  • Go to the theatre
  • Like pizza
  • Have home broadband access
  • Buy houses
  • Go to sporting events
  • Have job security
  • Can do poached eggs
  • Are obsessed with Game of Thrones

So what about me? I:

  • Put numbers into spreadsheets
  • Read books on public transport

The simple life often seems unappealing, but I don’t think I could cope with the clamour of normality.

2 responses to “A Friday thought – other people

  1. 9 of normality and 1 of yours. I tried to learn to drive but it didn’t agree with me. The only girl in primary school who went to brownies was bullied because of that (and I was being bullied already; didn’t need more to make me a target). I’m freelance so all the work questions are sort of N/A. And I don’t get the Game of Thrones craze at all; dislike the books and don’t have TV.

    Well, never thought I was normal, anyway.

  2. I know for fact there are many, many people, many of them in other countries, who are perfectly normal and have probably never:

    Known how to put up tents – because they can’t afford to camp
    Learnt to drive – because they can’t afford to
    Gone to Scouts/brownies – because they may not have them
    Gone on holiday every year – because they ..you get the idea
    Left work on time more often than not – because they don’t work
    Got married
    Gone to restaurants & pubs – lotta teetotalers out there
    Drunk tea & beer – see above… OK, the tea, maybe
    Gone to the theatre – in the rainforest/desert/Altiplano?
    Liked pizza – cheese? Yuk. (Say many Chinese)
    Had home broadband access – nope.
    Bought houses – Hah!
    Gone to sporting events – with what money?
    Had job security – see ‘leave work on time’
    Been able to do poached eggs – not a priority for refugees
    Been obsessed with Game of Thrones – never heard of it!

    I’ve taken 3 out which are hard to argue with, but just to reassure you/make you aware – lots of other people aren’t normal either 😉 Sorry!