Book Review: Blind Spots in the Bible by Adrian Plass

From the outset, I probably ought to declare that I am already a big Adrian Plass fan. His breakthrough books, The Sacred Diary and its follow-up, The Horizontal Epistles of Andromeda Veal, capture perfectly the real life expressions of christianity in everyday life. His collection of parables, The Final Boundary, is brilliantly written and highly thought-provoking. So I came to Blind Spots in the Bible with high expectations.

The book is laid out very simply. Plass gives us a short-ish passage which contains some aspect that he feels he has overlooked in the past. He then goes on to explain why it may have been overlooked and to offer his thoughts on the subject. What he doesn’t give is a neatly packaged, all-encompassing answer that leaves no room (or need) for further explanation; life isn’t that simple and Plass puts the reader in no doubt that that is his view.

These blind spots are only those that Plass has noticed; some of which I share, some of which I thought Plass may have omitted. But that’s sort of the point; our blind spots are our own. Though orthodox in his belief, he comes across a little more conservative than I had thought him to be. Consequently, I don’t always agree with him, but that’s ok. He acknowledges that there are some things we are unlikely to understand in this lifetime and that some revelations of understanding are awaiting us.

The book is broken up into approximate themes, though these get more and more tenuous as the book goes on. Each passage and Plass’ ponderings is quite short, but also quite thought-provoking. As such, this is not a book to be read in a hurry. I found it most helpful to just look at 2 or 3 passages a day, but never one straight after the other. Each of us could write our own version of this book. Indeed, I may well address some of my own blind spots on this blog later in the year.

I would recommend this book to you, not as a resource where you might come to have questions answered, but as a resource where questions are asked, prompting you to think for yourself.

3 responses to “Book Review: Blind Spots in the Bible by Adrian Plass

  1. Thanks for the review, I too am a Plass fan. Happy New Year!

  2. Pingback: 2012 in books | The Alethiophile

  3. Pingback: Reading List | The Alethiophile