Is this the worst email reply ever?

This week, the tv signal got switched off once and for all. In order to be able to watch tv, I would have to upgrade to digital. Now, since (as you can tell from recent posts) I am being made redundant, this is not a justifiable expense.

So I decided it would be better to cancel my tv license and get a partial refund. However, having gone through the rigmarole of the online form, at the end of it I was asked to print off another form which had to be posted along with supporting evidence as to why I no longer needed a license.

Now I’m all for backing stuff up with evidence. My background is, after all, scientific. But the list of things they suggested just didn’t match my circumstances. I don’t need a tv license because there is no signal any more. Evidence of the non-existence of something is very tricky to do!

So I asked this question of them:

I wish to cancel because the tv signal has been switched off. I cannot afford to upgrade to digital as I am losing my job. I have printed off an application for refund form but I have been asked for a piece of evidence backing up my reason. What would you consider to be admissible evidence for this reason?

Below is a copy of their reply, copied exactly from the email.

Dear Mr Meadows

Thank you for contacting us.

If a TV Licence isn?t needed again before it expires, we can refund any unused whole quarters of the fee (three month periods) remaining on the licence.  A refund cannot be given earlier than the date we receive the application without further evidence.

Your application must be submitted within two years of the expiry date of the licence for which you need a refund.

If you believe you are eligible, please visit tvlicensing.co.uk/refund. The form will tell you whether you need to send us any evidence. If you do, then you need to print the completed form, sign it and send it with a photocopy of your evidence to:

The Refund Centre
PO Box 410
Bristol
BS99 5HP

Alternatively please call us if you would like me to post a refund application form to you.

Please Note: As a signature is required, the application must be made in writing; we cannot accept emails, but we can accept a scanned signed copy.

I hope I?ve been able to explain the situation and thank you for taking the time to contact us.

Yours sincerely

Mr W Kimball
TV Licensing

2 responses to “Is this the worst email reply ever?

  1. Wow. Possibly the worst explanation in the history of humanity!

    “Dear Mr Meadows,

    I have answered your question by simply reformulating your question into a statement, thereby rendering my reply little more than useless.

    I hope that by doing so, and by using language that sounds like a less intelligent person trying to be “professional”, you might leave me alone and not cause me to have to answer any more questions. I also hope that this allows you to forget about the fact that you are eligible for a refund.

    Yours sincerely,

    Mr TV License Man”

    On a serious note, why not photocopy and/or take a digital photo of one o their posters or a screen shot of their website which indicated the analog switch off date and send them that as evidence?

    Alex

  2. Pingback: Top 10 posts of 2012 | The Alethiophile