A brief up on the jobhunt

I thought I’d give you a little update on the job front. I’ve heard nothing more from my current employer as to my end date, so I am assuming it will still be shortly after Easter.

I saw this really great post from Morris Henshaw. I’d highly recommend you read it. He talks about being unemployed and how we view and define ourselves by our jobs, taking into account what’s really important. Please read it, it’s excellent (though it is quite long, so don’t read it while you’re waiting for the kettle to boil).

I’ve got a master copy of my CV done and have sent a trimmed down version to a local recruitment consultant. I’m starting my search local as I’d like to cut down my 3-4 hours of commuting per day, although I know this will also probably slow my reading. If I can get something local, I might even have time to learn to drive. Given that I’m rapidly coming up to 30 years old, I think I’m a late learner by anyone’s standards.

This has given me a couple of leads, which I’ll look at over the next few days. I’m not sure the jobs are right for me, but I’ll try to get an interview (not usually a problem, as my CV is fairly strong) anyway. You never know, but past experience shows my interview technique gets rusty quite quickly. So I normally need a couple of interviews as practice to get myself back to presentable and professional standards. I’m not saying I’m unprofessional normally. It’s just that to get a job you have to be flawless.

I’ve also opened a profile in Linked In as this was recommended to me. I’ve started asking for connections from lots of old work colleagues and uni mates, which is quite interesting as I’m not a great one for staying in touch. Careers and lives certainly go n different directions from those you expect them to.

If you have any hints and tips, please do drop me a note in the comment box.

3 responses to “A brief up on the jobhunt

  1. I’ve never worked out how it is that LinkedIn is suppose to help us get jobs. Is it best for people who work in well defined industries? (For example, if all the sub-editors in Britain are friends on LinkedIn they will pick up news of job vacancies more quickly?)

    • From talking to a friend at my church who used it, he heard about a vacancy and searched for the company on LinkedIn. He found that he knew someone who knew someone who worked there. Using these connections (think: 6 degrees of separation, but LinkedIn limits you to 3) you can find out what it’s really like to work there and even bypass normal recruitment routes.

      So if you were offered a role at XYZ plc, for example, you might be able to see that I know someone who used to work there. You could then request to be introduced. It is very much dependent on industry though. I think it works better for the more corporate style industries than the arts.

  2. Ohhhh. I never thought of using it like that. I’ve got some fairly influential people in my network but can’t imagine I’d ever work for their companies.